You know me from school

The first time I met your new boyfriend 

You told him you know me from school.

I didn’t agree because I was only fourteen.

I couldn’t have known you at fourteen.

You argued, convinced I was fifteen.
I was fourteen when we met at school,

And I was fifteen when we first kissed.

I was sixteen that night on the beach,

And I was seventeen when I kept coming back

Even though I swore we were broken up.

I was eighteen when I discovered those long hours in your bed.

I was eighteen when they became my favourite.

I was eighteen when you said you loved me

And I was nineteen when I wrote it back.
But you never lied.

You do  know me from school.

Leave a Reply

